REVEALED: The Labour MPs who defied Corbyn to back May’s EU withdrawal bill and Brexit

THE Labour MPs who defied their party leader Jeremy Corbyn to support Theresa May on the second reading of the EU withdrawal bill have been revealed.

Ronnie Campbell, Frank Field, Kate Hoey, Kelvin Hopkins, John Mann, Dennis Skinner and Graham Stringer defied their own party whip to back the bill, which will allow EU law to be passed into UK common law.The move is another embarrassing setback for Mr Corbyn who had instructed his politicians to impose the Brexit Bill amid fears that “Henry VIII” powers within the draft legislation would allow ministers to change law without consulting full parliamentary scruitiny.

But during Commons debates, some of his MPS claimed that failing to vote for the bill would mean Labour is betraying the vote of last year’s momentous EU referendum.

Shadow Brexit Secretary Keir Starmer branded the betral as “a deeply disappointing result”.

Jeremy Corbyn and Dennis Skinner GETTY

Dennis Skinner is one of seven Labour MPs who defied Jeremy Corbyn to backthe EU withdrawal bill

Caroline Flint defied the party whip and abstained from voting

This bill is an affront to parliamentary democracy and a naked power grab by Government Ministers

Keir Starmer

He said: “This bill is an affront to parliamentary democracy and a naked power grab by Government Ministers. It leaves rights unprotected, it silences Parliament on key decisions and undermines the devolution settlement.”It will make the Brexit process more uncertain, and lead to division and chaos when we need unity and clarity. Labour will seek to amend and remove the worst aspects from the Bill as it passes through Parliament. But the flaws are so fundamental it’s hard to see how this bill could ever be made fit for purpose.”

Meanwhile, Labour’s former minister Caroline Flint defied the three-line whip to abstain, accusing opponents of the repeal Bill of wanting to “thwart the result of the EU referendum and prevent or delay the UK leaving the EU”.

On the other hand, Prime Minister Theresa May gained the full support of her MP’s to avoid a damaging defeat and take the next step towards Brexit.

Mrs May hailed the vote as an offer of “certainty and clarity” as she steers the nation through its exit from the European Union.The PM said: “Earlier this morning Parliament took a historic decision to back the will of the British people and vote for a bill which gives certainty and clarity ahead of our withdrawal from the European Union.

“Although there is more to do, this decision means we can move on with negotiations with solid foundations and we continue to encourage MPs from all parts of the UK to work together in support of this vital piece of legislation.”

On Tuesday morning the Labour Party tabled a number of amendments to the Brexit bill as Jeremy Corbyn desperately attempted to cling on to power after his party lost the key vote.

The party tabled a wave of amendments to the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill and will put down more over the coming weeks.

They ave also demanded that major EU powers be handed straight to devolved administrations after Britain’s exit.

It piles pressure on Scottish Tory MP’s to defy Theresa May.

Mr Corbyn also wants to secure protections on human rights and environmental standards.

Leave a Reply

Help put the World to rights and leave a Comment

Notify of

Well at least seven labour MPs have Courage & Morals well done don’t be bullied by Corbyn !

Powered by: Wordpress
%d bloggers like this: